The Lure of Little Things

I like little things.

By little I’m not referring to children or animals.. unless you are meaning miniatures. Because that’s what I’m talking about. I have been sucked into the world of miniatures and I couldn’t be happier.

Not only do I like looking at miniatures, I like making them, especially out of polymer clay. I started out with miniature food, like cakes and bread but I am slowly moving into other areas. My goal is eventually to build room boxes filled with pieces I have made myself.

The other day I was chatting with my pal Betty, aka LiveMini, and we were talking about 1:24th scale creations, including figures to put in a scene. I quite stupidly said it would be easy to make a 1:24th scale person… although I did say it tongue in cheek. Not long after one of my other friends, Coltpixy, sent me a fabulous tute on mapping faces. Now I cannot draw faces to save my life, and other faces I have sculpted have only barely been recognisable as human, but with the help of this tutorial, and a bit of patience, I actually managed to sculpt a fairly good 1:24th scale head. I then went on to make a 1:12th scale head. Both are currently sans eyes, hair, body, clothing etc but I did prove to myself that I can sculpt a face even if I cannot draw one.

Not the best photograph, but it does indicate two fairly human heads.

Sculpting these two has increased my love of all things tiny and solidified my drive to create miniatures, even if only for myself.

Now I am aware that you can get molds to make dolls from and faces from, but like my dear friend Coltpixy I believe every face is individual, and the same is true of faces that we sculpt. You will not see me making molds of these guys or any other faces I make, every one will be One Of A Kind, a unique creation just like every person on the planet.

So keep an eye on this little blog, as I am sure to show you some more mini creations over the coming months

3 Responses to “The Lure of Little Things”

  1. bendedspoon Says:

    my kiddos and i have fun making crafts and jewelries. we will try clay too. thanks for this and will keep on checking. so much is going on in here 🙂

  2. ColtPixy Says:

    Love them! Cannot wait to see what is next.

  3. beadywitch Says:

    Awesome , and a little bit erie. Can’t wait to see ur Little person finished.


Leave a Reply

