Miniature Madness

A few weeks ago I mentioned my growing fascination with the world of miniatures. Nothing much has changed, except that I have created a few more minatures, in different materials.

First up I created some more miniatures in polymer clay. This time around I made cakes! Im going to show my miniature cakes, and please be gentle, I know there are some things that can be improved. My kids did tell me they good enough to eat, so I am on the right track!

Red Velvet Cake with Chocolate Icing

Buttercake with Red Jelly filling and Chocolate Icing

The first is about 25mm x 11mm, the second is about26mm x 18mm (for those who wanna know how big they are). They were heaps of fun to make and I will definitely be making more.

As well as the polymer clay creations I also did some new micromaille! Yes, teeny tiny rings. Yes I am just a little bit crazy. There is a reason it is known as Insanity Maille!! LOL

So I was fiddling around and decided to make Barbie some new necklaces.

Plated Silver Micromaille Choker next to 16ga Not so Micro Maille

Excuse the photo on this one, I went to rephotograph it yesterday and one of the rings wasnt quite closed securely and it sort of broke. Normally fairly easy to fix, but not when working with 1.5mm ID rings. I will probably just make a new one.

Anyway..next.

Barbie Goth Maille

So then I made this fabulous Goth inspired number. The little dangle is a Tundura Sapphire in a very dark reddish colour. This necklace will be heading to the US soon to adorn fabulous Mod Barbie owned by friend.

Purple Twisted Spiral

This one is actually my favourite, not just because it is purple. It is simple and elegant and the easiest of the three! I have plans to make some more, including two for special friends.

I have made some non miniature stuff recently, but they can wait for another blog post.

3 Responses to “Miniature Madness”

  1. ColtPixy Says:

    They all look fabulous! That red velvet cake is making me hungry. The texture is wonderful.
    Still cannot get over the itty bitty chainmaille.

  2. haffina Says:

    Thanks Coltpixy 😀

  3. bendedspoon Says:

    realistic with that slice of cake
    cupcakes are see delicious too 🙂


Leave a Reply

