A little bit of an experiment.

So recently I have been using a lot of Kato Liquid Medium, because I love the finish it can give you. I have heard a lot of people dont like the smell, but it doesnt bother me. And some people prefer Translucent Liquid Sculpey, which is cool too. They are actually fairly different to each other. Kato is quite runny, whilst TLS is fairly thick. But one of the biggest differences is how clear they end up.

I thought a good way to show this was to put some of both on a piece for comparison. So that is what I did. I made a pendant and put TLS on one side and Kato on the other. I used a fairly thin layer and cured them both with the heat gun. This may have affected the TLS a bit, but I figured it should be very much like the Kato in that thin coats should be able to be cured without needing to be baked in the oven.

So here are the results – and the difference is noticeable.

This one is the Translucent Liquid Sculpey. As you can see it isnt quite clear in the middle where it was slightly thicker.

This one is the Kato Liquid Medium. As you can see it is quite a bit clearer. I think my darling daughter has shaken the Kato, cos it seems to have lots of air bubbles.

Both of these are great to use, and they both have their strengths and weaknesses. If the result you want is a very clear finish, then Kato is the one to go for in my opinion.

Note: Neither Sculpey or Kato is paying me to endorse their product. I receive nothing for mentioning either Kato or Sculpey. I buy and use both products of my own volition. Any results I achieve are purely from my own experience and others may achieve different results.

2 Responses to “A little bit of an experiment.”

  1. Roxy Says:

    This is good to know, thank you!

  2. Arlene Holtz Says:

    You are so creative and productive! I admire all you do! I have given you a blog award. To see details, see my latest blog post: http://www.spiritessenceart.com/2010/03/ive-won-award.html


Leave a Reply

